Das Power-Team

James A. Chávez

Präsident und Geschäftsführer
803.605.0643
803.978.7643

Von dem Moment an, als James das South Carolina Power Team vorgestellt wurde, wusste er, dass sein Karriereweg ihn darauf vorbereitet hatte, die Organisation als Präsident und CEO zu führen. Mit einer 20-jährigen Erfolgsbilanz bei der Betreuung vorstädtischer, zweitrangiger und ländlicher Gemeinden als Handelskammer- und Wirtschaftsentwicklungsexperte war James in einzigartiger Weise darauf vorbereitet, dem Power Team zu dienen.

James stammt aus Albuquerque, New Mexico, und schloss sein Studium an der University of New Mexico mit einem Bachelor of Science in Early Childhood ab. James begann seine Karriere in einem örtlichen Kinderkrankenhaus mit der Absicht, einen Master-Abschluss in Krankenhausverwaltung zu machen. Nennen Sie es Zufall oder Schicksal, als ein Freund ihm die Gelegenheit bot, bei der Handelskammer in Leadville, Colorado, in der Wirtschaftsentwicklung zu arbeiten, änderte dies seinen Kurs und begann seine fast 30-jährige Karriere in der Wirtschaftsentwicklung. Anschließend arbeitete James in verschiedenen Führungspositionen für Wirtschaftsentwicklungsorganisationen in Cobb County und Tift County, Georgia, und Clarksville, Tennessee.

Als James im Herbst 2013 zum Power Team von South Carolina kam, wagte er es, sich innerhalb seiner ersten 100 Tage persönlich mit über 130 Stakeholdern zu treffen. Aus diesen persönlichen Gesprächen entstand der Rahmen für den South Carolina Power Team Strategic Blueprint, der Ressourcen bereitstellte, um die Stromgenossenschaften von South Carolina zu einem wesentlichen Partner für Wachstum und Entwicklung zu machen. Mit James an der Spitze und unterstützt von einem uneingeschränkt unterstützenden Vorstand wurde im Januar 2014 ein strategischer Plan verabschiedet. James ist für das Gesamtwachstum und die Zukunft der Organisation unerlässlich und mit der Umsetzung der Strategie beauftragt.

Seit der Verabschiedung des Strategic Blueprint haben die Elektrogenossenschaften eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Anziehung von $9 Milliarden an Kapitalinvestitionen und 36.933 Arbeitsplätzen nach South Carolina gespielt.

James, is an avid fisherman of both fresh and salt water.  He also is a committed road and gravel cyclist, and recently discovered a passion for ultra endurance events.  James, along with 22 other cyclists, recently completed a 640 mile ride in seven days in an effort to raise awareness about heart disease and stroke with electric cooperative employees. James lives in Columbia, SC with his wife, Stevie. Together, they have four adult children, and three grandchildren. He and his wife love cooking, street food and travel.

„Die Gründung einer neuen Industrie, die bessere Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten bietet,
für viele kann es bedeuten, dass ein Familienmitglied zum ersten Mal gut bezahlt wird
Arbeit."

Persönliche Fakten

Dinge, die andere Leute über James sagen

ist einnehmend, lustig und hat ein gewisses Charisma an sich.

James liebt …

seine Familie und die Gelegenheit, die ihm sein Beruf gegeben hat, um Gemeinschaften zu dienen.

Seine kostbarste Zeit verbringt er…

verbringt Zeit mit seiner Frau und seinen Freunden, radelt und kocht.

Interessante Fakten…

Seine kulinarischen Helden sind Anthony Bourdain & Andrew Zimmern – wenn James reist, gibt es nichts, was er lieber genießt, als durch die Straßen zu gehen und lokales Street Food zu essen. James erzählt gerne die Geschichte, wie seine Hochzeit im Central Park von „John Boy Walton“ gecrasht wurde.

Wer James damals war …

arbeitete mit Eltern und Kleinkindern in einem Kinderkrankenhaus und hatte geplant, eine Karriere in der Krankenhausverwaltung einzuschlagen.

Wer wir sind

Treffen Sie die Anderen

Rebecca M. Breland

Rebecca M. Breland, PE

Leiter der Site-Entwicklung

Warren A. Darby, Jr.

Warren A. Darby, Jr.

Senior Vice President, Global Business

R. Andrew Folks

R. Andrew Folks

Geschäftsbindungs- und Expansionsmanager

James

James „Jamie“ W. Frost, II, PE

Senior Vice President Community Preparedness

Amy Hansen

Amy Hansen

Assistent der Geschäftsführung und Betriebsleiter

Marc  Metcalf

Marc Metcalf

Senior Projektmanager

Angelyn T. Smith

Angelyn T. Smith

Senior Projektmanager

Caroline A. Warner

Caroline A. Warner

Direktor für Gemeindeentwicklung

Lassen Sie uns verbinden.

Melden Sie sich unten für unsere E-Mails an.

*“ zeigt erforderliche Felder an

Dieses Feld dient Validierungszwecken und sollte unverändert bleiben.
de_DEGerman

The Power Team

James A. Chavez

President & CEO
803.605.0643
803.978.7643

From the instant South Carolina Power Team was introduced to James he knew his career path had prepared him to lead the organization as President and CEO. With a 20 year track record of success in serving suburban, second tier and rural communities as a chamber of commerce and economic development professional, James was uniquely prepared to serve the Power Team.

A native of Albuquerque, New Mexico, James graduated from the University of New Mexico with a Bachelor of Science in Early Childhood.  James began his career at a local children’s hospital, with the intention of pursuing a master’s degree in hospital administration. Call it chance or fate, when a friend presented an opportunity for him to work in economic development with the Chamber of Commerce in Leadville, Colorado, it changed his course and began his nearly 30-year career in economic development. Following, James worked in various executive leadership capacities for economic development organizations in Cobb County and Tift County, Georgia and Clarksville, Tennessee.

Upon joining the South Carolina Power Team in the fall of 2013, James ventured out to personally meet with over 130 stakeholders within his first 100 days. From these one-on-one conversations emerged the framework for the South Carolina Power Team Strategic Blueprint, which provided resources to make South Carolina’s electric cooperatives an essential partner for growth and development.  With James at the helm, backed by a fully supportive board, a Strategic Blueprint was adopted in January 2014. Essential to the overall growth and future of the organization, James is charged with the strategy’s implementation.

Since adopting the Strategic Blueprint, the electric cooperatives have played a key role in the attraction of $9 billion in capital investment and 36,933 jobs to South Carolina.

James, is an avid fisherman of both fresh and salt water.  He also is a committed road and gravel cyclist, and recently discovered a passion for ultra endurance events.  James, along with 22 other cyclists, recently completed a 640 mile ride in seven days in an effort to raise awareness about heart disease and stroke with electric cooperative employees. James lives in Columbia, SC with his wife, Stevie. Together, they have four adult children, and three grandchildren. He and his wife love cooking, street food and travel.

“The establishment of a new industry that brings better job opportunities,
for many, may mean a family member having their first well-paying
job.”

Personal Facts

Things other people say about James

is engaging, fun and has a certain charisma about him.

James loves…

his family and the opportunity his profession has given him to serve communities.

His most precious time is spent…

spending time with his wife and friends, cycling, and cooking.

Interesting Facts…

his culinary heroes are Anthony Bourdain & Andrew Zimmern – when James travels there is nothing he enjoys better than walking the streets and eating local street food. James enjoys telling the story about having his Central Park wedding crashed by “John Boy Walton.”

Who James was back then…

worked with parents and infants in a children’s hospital and had planned to pursue a career in hospital administration.

Who We Are

Meet the Others

Rebecca M. Breland

Rebecca M. Breland, P.E.

Director of Site Development

Warren A. Darby, Jr.

Warren A. Darby, Jr.

Senior Vice President, Global Business

R. Andrew Folks

R. Andrew Folks

Business Retention and Expansion Manager

James

James “Jamie” W. Frost, II, P.E.

Senior Vice President Community Preparedness

Amy Hansen

Amy Hansen

Executive Assistant and Operations Manager

Marc  Metcalf

Marc Metcalf

Senior Project Manager

Angelyn T. Smith

Angelyn T. Smith

Senior Project Manager

Caroline A. Warner

Caroline A. Warner

Director of Community Development

Let's Connect.

Sign up below for our emails.

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
en_USEnglish